Attention Listers, Town Clerks and Treasurers

Each year at, the VALA September Annual Meeting ,the Lister of the Year award is presented to the Lister that meets the qualities of Michael P. Cyprian. These qualities are described below.

VALA is asking you to review these qualities and complete a letter of recommendation for a lister that meet the high professional standards of Michael P Cyprian

VALA established the Michael P. Cyprian, Lister of the Year Award in 1991 to honor Listers and Assessors who demonstrate fairness to all, dedication, helpfulness, worked to improve the listing process and pursued better education for the assessment community,

The award is named for Michael P Cyprian who was the ‘Ultimate Lister’. He was active in his town, volunteering his expertise on many committees. He was well trained as a Lister and chose to become a professional appraiser. His integrity, his unquestioned fairness, and his ability to communicate with the townspeople, his sense of humor, and his high level of professionalism marked Michael’s eleven years as a Lister. He was an active VALA member and offered much Lister training.

Please send your letter of recommendation to John Fike at PO Box 76 Reading Vermont 05062 or e-mail to: rtownhall_464@comcast.net or

Carol Hammond 567 Governor Hunt Rd Vernon, Vermont 05354 or e-mail to vlisters@sover.net  Last day to accept recommendations Friday, June 20th 2014

Previous Michael P. Cyprian, Lister of the Year Award are as follows: 

     YEAR        RECIPIENT            MUNICIPALITY
1991 Board of Listers Clarendon
1992 Jean Conklin Woodstock
1993 Maynard L. Wright Randolph
1994 Edward C. Autenreith Pittsford
1995 Guy H. Winch South Hero
1996 Mitchell T. Harrness Bethel
1997 Mary Caryl Hubbarton
1998 Kenneth Southworth West Fairlee
1999 Ruth C. Heiser Enosburg Falls
2000 David F. Ray Derby
2001 Thomas S. Vickery Waterbury
2002 Elizabeth J. Brown Dover
2003 Elizabeth F. Keefe Jericho
2004 Peter Rimsa Proctor
2005 Caroline E. Lockyer Barre City
2006 Galen E. Mudgett, Jr. Sharon
2007 Terry Knight Williamstown
2008 Ruth Grandy Westminster
2009 Noelle Walker Fairlee
2010 Pat French Randolph
2011 Randy Viens Essex
2012 Augusta Graves Fayston
2013 Susan Fletcher Richford

Thanks for your support.

John Fike, President, VALA




  • Annual Conference
  • Contact
  • Court Case Database
  • Help Wanted – Help Available
  • Home
  • IAAO
  • IAAO Education
  • PVR – State of Vermont
  • Sample Documents
  • Secretary of State
  • State Level Appeals
  • VALA Scholarship
  • VLCT
  • About VALA
  • ByLaw & Constitution
  • Contact Information: Members, Directors & County Delegates
  • Committees
  • Miscellaneous Forms
  • Educational Opportunities
  • Lister of the Year
  • Privacy Policy
  • Contact